AT Commands for classic bluetooth

• Hi,

I have bought an M5 Stack grey because I think it could work nice for a project I want to make.
    First I should say I am new to Arduino, although I have used a teensy to make a gaming mouse in C before, but this project is quite different.

I'm using this guide:
    https://sites.google.com/site/grcbyte/electronica/arduino/obdii-bluetooth
    (sorry its not in English, but google translate works well).

Basically I want to communicate with an OBD2 (ELM327) scanner over classic bluetooth, say for example, get the current engine RPM from it and display it on the M5Stack screen. The OBD2 scanner needs to have a pin sent to it to connect (eg "1234"). So the idea is, the M5Stack and OBD2 scanner sit in my car, when I turn on the ignition, the M5Stack will request data from the OBD2 reader, and display whatever is requested on the screen and constantly update it. It can potentially get quite a lot of information and display it in all sorts of ways, but I just want something simple, and also something I can share with my friends who also want something like this (I am aware you can get these kinds of thing on ebay, but my car is old and most don't support it).

I understand how to do pretty much everything in the guide with the M5 Stack, but the one thing that I'm having trouble with is the AT Commands at the start.

I have set up ESP-IDF, and there is a AT application for it here: https://github.com/espressif/esp32-at

It just seems so complicated and there's a lot of things I don't know. On the HC-05, it looks very easy, so I have ordered one of those just to have as a fallback, and to get the project started (since its hard to begin anything without being able to connect to the OBD2 scanner).