Building a Smart Navigation System using myCobot M5Stack-Base and myAGV

• Introduction

As a developer, I am currently involved in an interesting project to combine a SLAM (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping) car, myAGV, with a small six-axis robotic arm, myCobot 280 M5Stack, for research on logistics automation in education and scientific fields.

myAGV is a small car that can perform mapping and navigation and uses Raspberry Pi 4B as the controller. It can locate and move indoors and outdoors. MyCobot280 is a small collaborative robotic arm with six degrees of freedom that can accomplish various tasks in limited space.

My project goal is to integrate these two devices to achieve automated logistics transportation and placement. We plan to use open-source software and existing algorithms to achieve autonomous navigation, localization, mapping, object grasping, and placement functions. Through documenting the process in this article, we aim to share our journey in developing this project.

The equipment that I am using includes:

myAGV, a SLAM car that is capable of mapping and navigation.
    alt text

myCobot280 M5Stack, a six-axis collaborative robotic arm with a complete API interface that can be controlled via Python.alt text

An adaptive gripper that can be mounted as an end effector with MyCobot280, which is capable of grasping objects.alt textalt text

Development environment:

Ubuntu 18.04, Python 3.0+, ROS1.

Note: myAGV is controlled by Raspberry Pi 4B, and all environment configurations are based on the configurations provided on the Raspberry Pi.

Project

The picture below shows the general flow of this project.alt text

I split the function into one, a small part to be implemented independently and finally integrated together.

myAGV

Firstly, I am working on the functions of myAGV, to perform mapping and automated navigation. I am implementing these functions based on the information provided in the official Gitbook.