Getting Started

• I have no prior knowledge of
    Programming with the m5stack or other microcontrollers.

The first thing I want to do code up is :

1. Doing a http request
    2. serialize JSON
      2.1 loop through list
    3. output list on screen

Any guidence on how I should aproach this ?
    Im start at 0 .. so I dont know what libraries to use ... where to look etc...

For the stuff I mentioned I think its better to start with learning som C programming instead of looking at UI flow ?

Also if I burn uiflow to the device .. can I still upload code and run it via the arduino ide ?

Thanks

• If you have zero experience in programming microcontrollers, I would recommend uiFlow. Block programming is good for beginners. Drag-and-drop blocks to make a program is much easier than learning C syntax. Plus with uiFlow you can switch to the Python tab to understand that syntax. With more complicated projects I do recommend the Arduino IDE and C programming, but achieving your requirements should be very doable (and fast) with uiFlow.

• @medy said in Getting Started:

Also if I burn uiflow to the device .. can I still upload code and run it via the arduino ide ?

Thanks

No, you cannot use both together. However, to get back to uiFlow after Arduino, you would need to use the m5burner to flash the uiFlow firmware to the device. It’s one or the other but you can switch between them.

• Okay thx ... I started with uiflow since I know some python ... and got my script running...

Though it feels kinda buggy atm .. since you cant seem to save custom code (you cant mix custom code and blocks...) ... but you can still run it ... and send it to the device .... so I had to save my code in a seperate text file ....

idk whats going on there .... maybe this is still really in beta stage ?...

Also I couldnt seem to find how to set fontssize in micropython ... onyl some preset sizes ?