Powering M5Stamp C3U without USB?

• Hi!

I'm just getting started with microcontrollers and got the M5StickC Plus and M5Stamp C3U.
    The M5Stick has 5Vin and 5Vout pins, and I can power it on by connecting a 5V supply to the 5Vin pin, but the M5Stamp doesn't have a 5Vin pin. Connecting the supply to the 5V pin doesn't seem to power it up.

Is there a way to power the M5Stamp without using the USB connector?

Thanks!

• Hello @125millibytes

what makes you believe the M5StampC3U doesn't run when powered via 5 V and GND pins?

I've loaded a simple LED blink example to my M5StampC3U and the LED blinks just fine when powered via 5 V and GND pins.

Thanks
    Felix

• I didn't upload anything yet to the M5Stamp, it was just running the default RGB LED example. The LED lights up and when you push the button on G9 it changes to a random color. I assume this is the program that is loaded by default: https://github.com/m5stack/STAMP-C3/blob/master/idf/RGB_LED_Control/main/main.c

This only happened when it was connected to USB, not 5V and GND pins.

Thanks!

• Hello @125millibytes

hmm, not sure then what might be the difference between your and my setup.

I've just reloaded the stock firmware and it runs fine as well when powered by 5 V and GND.

After applying power, have you tried the reset button?

Thanks
    Felix

• Yes I did press the reset button. I can even measure 5V at the USB Port when the power supply is connected to 5V/GND pins. I can also measure continuity between the USB 5V pin and the other 5V pins...

I guess it's a software issue... I'll try upload another program

Thanks for the help!

edit: PlatformIO doesn't find the device... it's not at /dev/ttyUSB* like the m5Stick
    edit2: I didn't read this before I ordered...